Measurable Skill Gains

Resources for Reporting Measurable Skill Gains (MSG) Types 3, 4, and 5

Adult education programs can now report additional types of MSG for workplace literacy and integrated education and training (IET) participants in NRS Tables 4 and 4c. The NRS tip sheet provides an overview of the MSG primary indicator of performance and reporting requirements, focusing on MSG types 3, 4 and 5. It includes a discussion of the validation and documentation required and examples of the types of MSG outcomes that can count.

The Measurable Skill Gain (MSG) Selector is a decision-making tool to help adult education staff understand which type of MSG is appropriate for participants in Workplace Literacy (WPL) and Integrated Education and Training (IET) programs and which type of achievements can count for each MSG type. MSG types 3, 4, and 5 can be used only for WPL and IET program participants.

There is also a webinar that explains these changes with examples from Indiana on establishing and documenting these types of MSG. The webinar also discusses other recent changes to NRS reporting tables.

Please contribute to the online discussion forum, a virtual space to exchange thoughts, best practices, and resources for reporting MSG for workplace literacy and IET participants. State Directors and staff, and other NRS data leaders, can contribute to the discussion by asking questions, posting and replying to messages, and sharing resources (login required).


Explore featured resources related to WIOA and the NRS including: state guidance, reporting, and external WIOA resources.

Quick Review of the 2024 NRS Table Changes

Reporting Measurable Skill Gains (MSG) Types 3, 4, and 5

NRS Technical Assistance (TA) Guide—Revised April 2024

WIOA and NRS Resources